This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.2 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.7
Comfort
7.9
Property location
7.6
Facilities
8.0
Staff
8.9
Value
8.3
Reviews
    Ryan
    au
    9.2
    17 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Toby
    au
    9.2
    13 February 2018
    First time in Nozawa Onsen
    The Onsen opens at 4pm, it would be nice to have the option to shower and bath in the morning too.
    Very helpful host with good room sizes and 5min wall to Main Street or 10mins to the ski lifts. There is also a free bus that stops 50m away to take you to the lifts.
    at
    7.5
    6 February 2018
    The host was very helpful and welcoming, and I felt quite at home there.
    The bed - although "Western-style" was very uncomfortable.
    The accommodation is quite basic, but at least the room had its own toilet. The breakfast was excellent, with a choice between Japanese or Western. Everything was prepared and waiting for the guests when they sat down. The little in-house onsen is lovely and means you don't have to leave the accommodation to enjoy this Japanese tradition. Although the property is not located in the "center", it is just a 10 minute walk to shops and restaurants and just a few minutes to a chairlift to access the ski area.
    Happy Cloen
    tw
    9.2
    19 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    stella
    au
    7.5
    4 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sofia
    gb
    10
    17 March 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    nz
    10
    21 February 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sarah
    au
    9.2
    22 January 2017
    Beautiful lodge, perfect for your ski trip
    The onsen only opened at four (and definitely craved it if you got back early from a rough day of boarding) but it was beautiful and deliciously hot. It was also always clean, and plentiful body wash, shampoo etc provided. The only complaint I had was lack of mirrors, but when you consider being completely covered for snowboarding all day, and a real lack of fashion in the snow by myself, it really was a petty issue.
    Owner was lovely- not only did he give us plenty of information about the area, but also how to visit the snow monkeys, good places to eat and best places to hire ski gear. Our room was spacious, however I am under the impression some of the others were smaller. We were right on the entrance level, with massive windows giving us a beautiful view each day. Breakfast was provided for a small fee if you asked in advance- and plentiful. Usually consisted of toast, cereal, fruit and then some combination of Japanese foods, such as dumplings. The doonas were very warm and the heaters kept our room at a nice temperature overnight. The futons took a day to get used to, and the pillows were a little more solid than i was used to. But after a day on the slopes, the beds were definitely comfy enough for my liking! Location- the whole village is quite small and walking between areas was never really a hassle. The lodge is further down from the main food areas, but still only a 5-10 minute walk, which was only an issue if it was very windy and cold. But there are still some options very close by, including a delightful bar with lovely staff offering meals for only 500Y. Bit of a steep walk up to the closest lifts- might be a struggle in ski boots, but was quite quick in snowboard boots. If it is difficult in ski boots there was a free shuttle bus stop less than a minute walk from the lodge. Overall a great stay
    Aisha
    jp
    6.7
    21 January 2017
    Good base for Nozawa Onsen if you are there to ski/snowboard - bonus, you can onsen at the lodge.
    The room was a little cold if you were on the side away from the heater. I've slept on more comfy Japanese futons and pillows.
    Good idea to include breakfast in the booking, otherwise you have to walk into town to get something. Different breakfast everyday and enough food to get you to a late lunch on the slope. Having an onsen style communal showering facility was great for warming up as relaxing the muscles everyday. Having a toilet and basin attached to our room was handy. Dry room was a roomy place to store all our gear. Good location to walk to the slopes and ski out, but it is further away from the main streets for dinner.
    Mike
    ca
    8.8
    18 January 2017
    Beds are small, and crib-like
    Great location and wonderful hosts
    KF
    hk
    7.5
    26 December 2016
    Value for money
    hot spring and breakfast
    Jordi
    es
    7.9
    5 April 2016
    The room was quite small for us. Taking into account that we were virtually the only guests at the time, they could have placed us in a better room.
    The inhouse onsen was pretty good, and the staff really helpful, although you have to defend yourself in Japanese to get all the recommendations.
    Brian
    au
    8.8
    3 April 2016
    Marunaka @ Nozawaonsen.
    The pillow was no good for me.
    Breakfast was perfect for a solid start to a day on the snow. Wifi was faultless. Location was great. Gear storeroon was excellent.
    susanne lang
    de
    9.6
    22 March 2016
    wonderful breakfast, choice of western or japanese style breakfast for every individual. owner was super helpful with booking taxi or other trips, onzen small but very cosy. nice fireplace in the welcome area
    Stuart
    nz
    9.2
    9 March 2016
    Great and memorable stay
    Slight walk to get to the town centre, about 10 minutes but not a big deal really.
    Wonderful lodge, beautiful huge breakfasts, very warm and comfortable. Has great own onsen, free wifi, dry room and storage. Short walk, 5 minutes, to get to the ski field. Mr Aki San was a kind and very helpful host.
    Scott
    au
    8.8
    5 March 2016
    great stay at Marunaka
    for me, 187cm the bed was a tad too small as I could not get the single room with the good size bed, had to bend the knees slightly to fit. otherwise room was great.
    I enjoyed the Onsen style bathroom with good hot water and small onsen bath, the breakfast was very filling and varied, just what was needed for a full day of snowboarding, good drying room for the equipment. Owner very friendly and helpful.
    aimee-dgl
    jp
    8.8
    2 March 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Venicia de San Miguel
    au
    8.8
    25 February 2016
    Great stay, highly recommended!
    The showers and onsen were only open from 4pm, would have been nice to open a bit earlier. The pillows were not very comfortable, they were very small and full of bean bag type beans.
    Good sized rooms for Japan and very clean, the futons were comfy enough. The breakfast was really nice and changed daily. The staff were friendly and the onsen was beautiful. The lodge was located about 10mins from the centre and 5mins to a lift.
    Aaron Russell
    au
    7.9
    24 February 2016
    Had the best week of non stop snow boarding ever. Snow monkeys last day where fantastic.
    Own shower would be nice although it is how they do things in Japan which added to my cultural experience.
    The whole hotel is well designed and felt unique. Manager was friendly and helpful.
    Helen
    au
    7.1
    22 February 2016
    Authentic Japanese accommodation and very friendly and patient staff when dealing with us being foreigners
Loading reviews