Reviews

8.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
8.1
Property location
7.9
Facilities
8.3
Staff
8.9
Value
8.6

Reviews

    fr

    Review score

    10
    20 March 2018

    Exceeded expectations, a wonderful stay

    I really have no complaints about our stay. It's not ideally located (eg. not smack in the middle of town) but it's a very short walk (10 mins) into town and literally right across from the Nozawa Onsen bus from the train station.
    The traditional Japanese breakfast was over-the-top - it was truly an experience and completely palatable to two Americans (that's us). I also loved the onsen, the water was the perfect temperature - simply amazing. Note that this is a traditional Ryokan so you're sleeping on a mattress on the floor in a pretty small room but it was lovely nonetheless.
    Chia-chia
    tw

    Review score

    10
    7 March 2018

    Very well kept place will good location, price, food and dry room! Good for budget snow trip!

    No
    The breakfast is amazing! The location is very close to public onsen and lifts.
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    5 March 2018

    I’ll definitely stay there again when I return!

    Everything’s good.
    The mushroom hotpot dinner is delicious!
    Phillip
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    2 March 2018
    Could only stay 1 night.
    Very comfortable ryokan style room, nice view over snow covered fields and nearby housing, the very friendly and helpful manager, and the cosy foyer area with log fire.
    Hsuan
    tw

    Review score

    10
    28 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ryan
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    17 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Toby
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    13 February 2018

    First time in Nozawa Onsen

    The Onsen opens at 4pm, it would be nice to have the option to shower and bath in the morning too.
    Very helpful host with good room sizes and 5min wall to Main Street or 10mins to the ski lifts. There is also a free bus that stops 50m away to take you to the lifts.
    at

    Review score

    7.5
    6 February 2018

    The host was very helpful and welcoming, and I felt quite at home there.

    The bed - although "Western-style" was very uncomfortable.
    The accommodation is quite basic, but at least the room had its own toilet. The breakfast was excellent, with a choice between Japanese or Western. Everything was prepared and waiting for the guests when they sat down. The little in-house onsen is lovely and means you don't have to leave the accommodation to enjoy this Japanese tradition. Although the property is not located in the "center", it is just a 10 minute walk to shops and restaurants and just a few minutes to a chairlift to access the ski area.
    Happy Cloen
    tw

    Review score

    9.2
    19 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    stella
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    4 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sofia
    gb

    Review score

    10
    17 March 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    nz

    Review score

    10
    21 February 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sarah
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    22 January 2017

    Beautiful lodge, perfect for your ski trip

    The onsen only opened at four (and definitely craved it if you got back early from a rough day of boarding) but it was beautiful and deliciously hot. It was also always clean, and plentiful body wash, shampoo etc provided. The only complaint I had was lack of mirrors, but when you consider being completely covered for snowboarding all day, and a real lack of fashion in the snow by myself, it really was a petty issue.
    Owner was lovely- not only did he give us plenty of information about the area, but also how to visit the snow monkeys, good places to eat and best places to hire ski gear. Our room was spacious, however I am under the impression some of the others were smaller. We were right on the entrance level, with massive windows giving us a beautiful view each day. Breakfast was provided for a small fee if you asked in advance- and plentiful. Usually consisted of toast, cereal, fruit and then some combination of Japanese foods, such as dumplings. The doonas were very warm and the heaters kept our room at a nice temperature overnight. The futons took a day to get used to, and the pillows were a little more solid than i was used to. But after a day on the slopes, the beds were definitely comfy enough for my liking! Location- the whole village is quite small and walking between areas was never really a hassle. The lodge is further down from the main food areas, but still only a 5-10 minute walk, which was only an issue if it was very windy and cold. But there are still some options very close by, including a delightful bar with lovely staff offering meals for only 500Y. Bit of a steep walk up to the closest lifts- might be a struggle in ski boots, but was quite quick in snowboard boots. If it is difficult in ski boots there was a free shuttle bus stop less than a minute walk from the lodge. Overall a great stay
    Aisha
    jp

    Review score

    6.7
    21 January 2017

    Good base for Nozawa Onsen if you are there to ski/snowboard - bonus, you can onsen at the lodge.

    The room was a little cold if you were on the side away from the heater. I've slept on more comfy Japanese futons and pillows.
    Good idea to include breakfast in the booking, otherwise you have to walk into town to get something. Different breakfast everyday and enough food to get you to a late lunch on the slope. Having an onsen style communal showering facility was great for warming up as relaxing the muscles everyday. Having a toilet and basin attached to our room was handy. Dry room was a roomy place to store all our gear. Good location to walk to the slopes and ski out, but it is further away from the main streets for dinner.
    Mike
    ca

    Review score

    8.8
    18 January 2017
    Beds are small, and crib-like
    Great location and wonderful hosts
    KF
    hk

    Review score

    7.5
    26 December 2016

    Value for money

    hot spring and breakfast